Fight or Flight

Well. I didn’t see this coming.

I went to bed on election night before anything was decided and woke to a different country than I thought I was living in. And, these days later, I’m still trying to get my head around it.

How bad is it going to be? Given that the physical world is crashing, it’s going to be even worse than I thought.

Internally, a war is being fought. My gut is in full rage (ie. fight mode) and my heart is in full fear (ie. flight mode). Every person I know, the ones who didn’t vote for the Big Cheeto, has experienced a physical reaction to this “election”.

The Nobody household is discussing a move to Canada.

Canada is no panacea. It’s got people there, too, and people generally suck. What is has, that America doesn’t, is healthcare and people who didn’t vote for Trump. And, no mass shootings. Alas, this may not be so easy. Canada does not encourage old people who are not rich enough to invest $2 million or more.

I’m fighting, desperately, to keep my sense of humor and some perspective intact. I’ve been amusing myself with various scenarios of Trump being briefed by the Joint Chiefs of Staff. As they discuss the threats, climate change will come up quickly. Will the generals be able to keep a straight face when Trump learns that it’s not a Chinese hoax?

The Republican platform calls for America to be declared a Christian nation. I wonder how that will go. Catholic or Protestant? If Protestant, which brand? There are so many because people can’t agree.

How bad is it going to get?

As near as I can figure it, being a middle brow and all, it’s going to get worse faster.

At minimum, with Trump and Republicans in both the House and Senate and with an open Supreme Court seat, we can expect environmental destruction to proceed. Soon enough, our water quality will resemble Flint’s, our air quality will resemble China’s.  China’s air quality is so bad that it is poisoning the soil, thus poisoning food.

I suppose black and brown people will be rounded up and put into detention centers, run by profiteers. Torture will proceed. Renditions of political dissenters is on the table, of course.

It’s going to be great!

So, fight or flight?

As I’ve mentioned before, I’ve done the marching, the picketing, the letter writing. Now that I’m pushing 60, I’m tired. It didn’t work before and it’s not going to work now. With the surveillance capabilities of today, any insurgency will be infiltrated. Resisters should be prepared for jail with long terms, assuming they even get a trial. Suicide by cop may be the only way to avoid jail.

Democrats are taking a conciliatory approach (or is it appeasement?) to our new leadership. These people are wrong, wrong and wronger.

And, I’m aware that there are people out there who say this is an over reaction. They say he won’t be so bad. But, as people learned in the 1930’s, it’s wise to take people at their word. When Hitler was elected, all kinds of rationalizations went on. Humans are absolutely supreme at denial and hopium.

Trump promised to build a wall, to deport Muslims and Mexicans, to dismantle Obamacare, to deregulate. I think we should believe him.  It’s really not hard to see him at Hitler 2.0.

Nothing he has done since the election makes me feel any better. I just love the idea of Ivanka, Donald Jr. and Eric the lion killer both running the Trump empire and helping daddy rule, don’t you?  No conflicts there!

I was so hoping for a few years of peace with my husband before the world crashed.

Alas. Not meant to be.

I think, without any hyperbole, that this country is headed for another civil war.

Prepare yourself. You will have to choose a side. Soon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fight or Flight

  1. witsendnj says:

    I think all the Trumps are buffoons and what worries me most about the near future under their rule is chaos. It will be interesting to see how much of a role Kushner will play, if it turns out to be prominent that could be good or bad. He at least seems to have some brains – but then, so did Machiavelli. I would say, just keep that Canada option open and see how things go.

    • igotsomethin says:

      Just read an article that said that Kushner had neither the GPA nor the SATs for entrance into Harvard. He was admitted after his daddy donated $2 million plus to the school. For whatever that is worth.

Thanks for reading!

