The New Place (After)

I’ve written a long essay about the move, but I’m not going to post it. Life takes a turn sometimes.

A week ago, my 87 year old father had a stroke.

We call my dad the Iron Buddha. He is a stoic. He’s had colon cancer and chemo nearly killed him. He’s had five melanomas.  He’s had a bout with c.diff. He is currently getting dialysis three times a week. He’s summed up his philosophy by saying things like, “a little pain never hurt anyone.”

As I struggled to choreograph the movers, I was also getting texts and calls from family as my dad deals with his new reality. The sibling who was supposed to help with the move abandoned me to drive to my father’s hospital bedside.

He had a bleed in the left hemisphere of his brain, with no paralysis. They did not have to do surgery to relieve the pressure, although there was talk of that. Brain surgery on an 87 year old kidney patient did not sound like a good idea.

Keeping people alive at all costs is the way we operate today. Death is something we fight. Do we even know what a good death is anymore?

My father’s powers of recovery are amazing. His will to live is absolute. He is willing to live with dialysis three times a week, for three hours at a time, and for incredible sums of money. Now he will receive more therapy while he lives in a nursing home to recover his memory and his vocabulary. More time, effort, emotion and money will be poured into his future.

This makes no sense to me at all. And yes, I do love my father.

So that is the background around the new place.

It is becoming our home. New delights every day. I got the hummingbird feeder up yesterday and have been so rewarded with their presence!  Now I need to find a good garden center so that I can plant things for them.

Frogs and toads abound.

Bubbles, the dog, has not adjusted. She was sick before the move and I haven’t yet found a vet to have her evaluated. She has not slept through the night since we moved. She is still chasing butterflies, though.

Spooky and Trotsky adjusted much quicker, of course. Once their furniture arrived, they seemed to relax right into it, using perches to keep track of the whole household and investigating every box and every piece of packing paper.

Mr. Nobody has been into the big city already.  Me, I’ve been trying to grow some roots.

We each deal in our own way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The New Place (After)

  1. Chris says:

    I would be there if I could. I do think about you often. Glad nature has provided you peace and hope

Thanks for reading!

