Real Estate Redux

I’m hoping this will be the last real estate post.

Our house got listed on the multiple listing service (MLS) after 5 pm EST on Thursday, June 26.   Three requests for showings on Friday.  First couple through made a full price offer.  We accepted it Saturday morning.

We are under contract.

Blandification works.

That rock star photographer did an amazing job.  When I looked at the pictures of the house as seen through his lens, I wanted it.

We are thrilled, of course.  Grateful, too.  One move, to a really beautiful place, with quiet and peace and nature.  After all of this time, I’m still having trouble wrapping my head around it.

I do feel guilty, too.  I’ve now contributed to and profited from yet another trend that isn’t good for the country.  That is the middle class for you.  I went out, found a good team, listened to them, did what they told me to do, and boom! Sold!  That advice did cost us in real money.  Just the basement water proofing system was pretty expensive.  We’ve had a lot of rain here in the Big Mitten, and the basement is dry.  Every day for the last week, I’ve had a sick feeling in the pit of my stomach.  I go downstairs.  I crawl around on the new carpeting.  Every day it’s dry, I feel a little more relief.

You can’t argue with results.

And I’ve allowed myself to do a little dreaming of the new place.  Just being able to walk outside, with Bubbles next to me, free from a leash, will be so incredibly joyous.  I will be able to watch her chase butterflies!  She is such an idiot that she doesn’t zig when they do…they are quite safe…but she’s so happy and in the moment that I will relish every opportunity she has to be so free.  She turns 11 years old this year, right around the time we will be moving.  It’ll be the best birthday gift I could ever give her.

Inspections, first.  I think we will do okay because of all of the preparation at the front end of the process, but you never know.

If everything proceeds relatively smoothly, we will close on our new place in mid-July, and will have immediate possession.  No move date set, yet.

We will close on the place that has been our home for over 14 years now at the end of July.

Out of develhell, at last.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Real Estate Redux

  1. Chris says:

    I am sincerely happy for you, and all the living things at/on your new home

  2. paulineschneider4p says:

    Congratulations!
    It’s a stressful time if change, but good promises for the future!!!

    I’m considering selling too.
    Had my basement waterproofed 2 yrs ago. But water comes from underground up to the middle of the floor in the basement!! Oy! $15,000 for the waterproofing.
    But the walls are bone dry. Lol.
    So now I’m going to put in an interlocking flooring called Dry Deck.
    A carpet could be put on it!
    Better that the glued down carpet previous owners had installed!
    What a mess to remove.

Thanks for reading!

