I can predict the future

My inner bitch as been nagging me practically non-stop to get something posted this week.

I’ve got two essays that aren’t thrilling me and just seem wrong. I think the season is getting to me.

I’ve already written something, once a week, about 2013, so I don’t feel a need to look back. The prediction business is a tricky one, but there are a couple I feel pretty confident making about 2014.

There will be storms. Big storms, little storms, storms that are predicted and surprises. Water will be a bigger topic even for the mainstream press, what there is left of it. We’ll also hear more about oceans and sea level rise.

There will be fires. Big fires, little fires, fires that follow the rules and fires that don’t. Drought will be a bigger topic, even for the mainstream press. We’ll hear more about falling river levels and drying or poisoned aquifers.

There will be oil spills. Big spills, little spills, spills that explode and spills that don’t. Pipelines will be built and pipelines will leak. No one will be held accountable.

The one wild card here in my predictions is the next one. I go day to day, moment to moment on whether I really believe this is possible or whether it is likely. Today is a likely day, so 2014 may be the year when we experience another Kent State type massacre of citizens by police. The police are exhibiting signs of total insanity with cavity searches sans warrant or due process, or by excessive force. If the few unions left want to be supported, they need to pick a side here. Support the public and reign in these assholes or address the systemic issues openly and you’ll find more support for your unions.

Last, I feel extremely confident predicting, even at this early date, that the 2020 Olympics will not take place in Tokyo. We may find out, sometime in late 2014, why Japan felt the need to pass the State Secrets law that makes inquiry into Fukushima a crime punishable by 10 years. My guess is that there is unhappy news they hope to cover up.

So, as much as I hate to be Debbie Downer, I’m forced to conclude that 2014 will be a harder year for most people around the globe.

Happy now, bitch?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I can predict the future

  1. First Recruit says:

    “Doom, despair, and agony on me. Deep down depression, excessive misery. If it weren’t for bad luck, I’d have no luck at all. Doom, despair, and agony on me.”

    Who knew that Hee Haw would sum up our species plight.

  2. John House says:

    Good set of predictions! I suspect you’re right on all counts. As the old saying goes “time will tell”.

    @ First Recruit, just nit pickin’ but wasn’t it “GLOOM despair . . . deep DARK depression . . .”? Thanks for reminding me of that great Hee Haw ditty.

Thanks for reading!

